About the MOD



Before 1972, what is today known as the Ministry of National Defense was called Department of War. The contemporary Ministry of National Defense was created by an Act of the National Legislature on June 9, 1972. The immediate control of the Ministry is vested in the Minister of National Defense, subject to the authority and direction of the President as Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Liberia. According to the Act, “The Minister of National Defense shall be a civilian and shall be nominated and, with the consent of the Senate, appointed and commissioned by the President.”


The mission of the Ministry of National Defense is to ensure the protection of Liberia’s national interest and territorial integrity, and to protect the citizens and residents within the borders of Liberia from internal and external aggression and in extremist, to respond to natural disaster.


The Minister of National Defense is the principal administrator of the Ministry. He is assisted by two deputy ministers, administration and operations, respectively. The Chief of Staff is the one who is responsible for all units of the Armed Forces of Liberia. There are three assistant ministers within the Ministry of National Defense. They are Assistant Ministers for Public Affairs, Coast Guard Affairs and Civil Works.


News Archive by date
Creating Fixed Footer with CSS